Logosm.gif (1927 bytes)
navlinks.gif (4688 bytes)
Hruler04.gif (5511 bytes)

Back to Metropolitan Police Department controversy main page

Mayor Barry Forming Search Committee for New DC Police Chief
December 3, 1997




Dorothy Brizill
Bonnie Cain
Jim Dougherty
Gary Imhoff
Phil Mendelson
Mark David Richards
Sandra Seegars


DCWatch Archives
Council Period 12
Council Period 13
Council Period 14

Election 1998
Election 2000
Election 2002

Election 2004
Election 2006

Government and People
Anacostia Waterfront Corporation
Boards and Com
Campaign Finance
Chief Financial Officer
Chief Management Officer
City Council
Control Board
Corporation Counsel
DC Agenda
Elections and Ethics
Fire Department
FOI Officers
Inspector General
Housing and Community Dev.
Human Services
Mayor's Office
Mental Health
Motor Vehicles
Neighborhood Action
National Capital Revitalization Corp.
Planning and Econ. Dev.
Planning, Office of
Police Department
Property Management
Public Advocate
Public Libraries
Public Schools
Public Service Commission
Public Works
Regional Mobility Panel
Sports and Entertainment Com.
Taxi Commission
Telephone Directory
University of DC
Water and Sewer Administration
Youth Rehabilitation Services
Zoning Commission

Issues in DC Politics

Budget issues
DC Flag
DC General, PBC
Gun issues
Health issues
Housing initiatives
Mayor’s mansion
Public Benefit Corporation
Regional Mobility
Reservation 13
Tax Rev Comm
Term limits repeal
Voting rights, statehood
Williams’s Fundraising Scandals


Appleseed Center
Cardozo Shaw Neigh.Assoc.
Committee of 100
Fed of Citizens Assocs
League of Women Voters
Parents United
Shaw Coalition



What Is DCWatch?

themail archives

Wednesday, December 3,

CONTACT: Linda Wharton Boyd
202-727-6224; 202-727-9561-fax


Nominees Drawn from a Wide Cross-Section of the Community

Mayor Marion Barry, Jr., is in the process of selecting a 21-member search committee which will assist with choosing the District's new police chief Metropolitan Police Department Chief Larry Soulsby stepped down on Nov. 25 following a series of controversies dogging him that he said distracted from the good work the department is doing. Mayor Barry named Assistant Chief Sonya T. Proctor, a 23-year veteran, acting chief on the heels of Chief Soulsby's departure.

She is the first African American woman to head the 3,700-member department. Before her appointment, Chief Proctor was assistant chief for personnel and training. "Searching for a new police chief is an important first step in correcting some of the many problems affecting the police department," Mayor Barry said. "With a competent, qualified, untainted leader at the top, we expect these qualities to filter down through the rest of the department. Just as crucial is the fact that stabilizing the department should also lead to greater community confidence in the department and a continuation of the trend toward reducing crime."

Mr. Hallem Williams, an employee in the Office of Grants Management, has agreed to head the search committee. Another person who has agreed to serve on the committee is former FBI Director and retired Judge William Webster, Mayor Barry said this morning.

The committee is drawn from a broad cross-section of the community and includes businesspeople community activists, jurists, the seven chairpersons of the District's Police Citizens Advisory Councils, law enforcement specialists and others. Members will meet, determine the criteria they will use to choose prospective applicants and then come up with its own recommendations.

The Mayor is also consulting with D.C. City Council members and Congressional representatives, such as D.C. Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton, Virginia Rep. Thomas Davis and other lawmakers from the Washington Metropolitan area and has asked them to submit their choices for the search committee.

Norm Roberts and Associates, a noted executive search firm, will work with the committee in the selection process. This week, the Mayor retained the firm to begin the nationwide search for a new chief

The Mayor expects the search to take between 90 and 120 days.

He also said he hopes Chief Proctor will apply for consideration as permanent chief.

Back to top of page

D.C. Citizens Advisory Committee on the
Selection of the Chief of Police

Chair: Mr. Hallem Williams
Former Director of the District of Columbia
Department of Corrections

Chief of Police Citizen Advisory Council Chairs:
1st District Mr. Skip Coburn
2nd District Mr. James Lively
3rd District Mr. Stanley J. Mayes
4th District Mr. Alan Morrison
5th District Ms. Norma M. Broadnax
6th District Rev. Thomas Alston
7th District Ms. Lendia Johnson
At Large Mr. Tony Cheng

Community Members:
Judge (Ret.) William Webster
Former Director, FBI

Attorney Myma Tucker, Chair
Commission On Violence Against Women

Ms. Susan Williams, Chairman
The Greater Washington Board of Trade &
President, Bracy Williams and Co.

Ms. Barbara Zartman, President
Federation of Citizens Association

Dr. Sylvia Hill, Chair
Dept. of Urban Affairs and Professor of Criminal Justice
University of the District of Columbia

Ms. Romaine B. Thomas, President
D.C. Federation of Civic Associations

Rev. Willie Wilson, Pastor
Union Temple Baptist Church

Mr. Mario Acosta, Executive Director
Latino Civil Rights Task Force

Mr. Mark Thompson Coordinator,
Police Task Force, NAACP

Mr. Rick Rosenthall
Gay and Lesbian Activist Alliance

Mr. Ronald Robertson, President
Fraternal Order of Police

Mr. Ron Hampton, Executive Director
National Black Police Association

Mr. Carl Rowan, Jr.
Attorney at Law, Rowan and Growdy

Mr. Donald Santorelli, Chairman
National Committee on Community Corrections &
Federal City Council Task Force on Corrections

Ms. Wilhelmina Rolark, President
United Black Fund

Mr. John Green
Med-Lantic Corp.

Back to top of page

Send mail with questions or comments to webmaster@dcwatch.com
Web site copyright ©DCWatch (ISSN 1546-4296)